Art is Trying (Or Something Like That…)

Yesterday I got the opportunity to do some painting. It’s been a while since I’ve gotten to do, like, a reasonably large, outdoor piece. I’ve painted sheds and things before, but it’s been a while. My recent project has been a bunny hutch for a place called the Rose Marie.

I had hoped to do the entire thing with spray paint, but I the space was too small to really work well. I did about four panels with spray paint, just to remember what I was doing and get a feel for it, and then I realized I wouldn’t be happy with the results I could produce with the tools I was working with.

So I ditched my spray cans and grabbed some brushes, and honestly, I’m really pretty happy with how it came out. It’s fun, it fits the feel of the place, and it solidly doesn’t suck.

I was tempted to say something like “We’ll ignore the part where it took me most of the afternoon to remember how to make good art”; then I realized that my attempts at being pithy are kind of just…undermining art. Some art takes a long time, some art goes fast. Art doesn’t always appeal to people. The real point is that my art brings me joy while I’m working on it. It doesn’t matter how long it takes for me to be happy with it. I may never be happy with the finished project. The important thing is that I’m working on it. Every time I try something, every time I do something over, it’s learning.

I love that.

 

Bunny Shed

Share Your Story:

