Neighbours on the Horizon

Confession:

I… *love* soap operas.

Unfortunately, here in America, Soaps are a dying slowly dying out. I spent a summer with a grandmother, and we would talk about every episode of As the World Turns as we watched for it’s final three months.

I spent a summer slipping rocks into my friends’ shoes so they would sink into the couch in the living room, giving into the “tornado of lethargy” as we called it. We would watch my soaps, and we would watch flocks of baby quails during commercial breaks.

When I was in middle school, I wrote and performed my own soap. I would write the episode for that day during classes that I was ignoring, and then I would play all of the parts and I would spend our lunch performing for my friends.

Now, I get to return to a land of soap operas. In August I will be reunited with Neighbours, which I have been without for over two years now. It’s like returning to old friends. The plots don’t really change, so even if I’ve missed something, I haven’t, really. It’s not terribly difficult to pick up. Someone will be pregnant, someone will be getting blackmailed, someone will be cheating on someone. Someone will be in jail, someone will be in the hospital and someone will have amnesia.

I think that just about covers every soap opera plot, *ever*.

I can’t wait!

One thought on “Neighbours on the Horizon

  1. I spent summer slipping rocks into friends’ shoes.
    They sink into the couch,
    into the “tornado of lethargy”–soaps.

    We watch baby quails during commercial breaks.
    I write my own soaps, play all the parts.
    A Land of Soap Operas.

    It’s like returning to old friends.
    Even if I’ve missed something, I haven’t, really.
    It’s not terribly difficult to pick up.

    Someone will be pregnant.
    Someone will be blackmailed.
    Someone will be cheating.

    Someone will be in jail,
    someone will be in the hospital,
    and someone will have amnesia.

    I can’t wait.

    Like

Share Your Story:

