Getting Very Lost

Yesterday, I was taking my flatmate to an acting gig. She was cast as an extra for a rave scene for some cop-drama thing with Woody Harrelson in it. I volunteered to drive her there, which might not have been the best plan I’ve ever made. I really don’t know my way around the city at all. I’ve been walking a lot, but I’ve left my car where I parked it when I arrived here.

A rave scene means that filming was taking place in the “abandoned warehouses available for rent” area of the city.

We got really quite lost getting to the address we were given, and then we finally found the correct parking lot, we were kindly informed that the email sent out had incorrect information, and we were given a secondary address. (The second address was significantly easier to find, and the direction made far more sense.)

After dropping off my friend, I then had to somehow find my way *back* to the flat.

I could have stopped and asked for directions.

I didn’t.

It turned out really quite well though; I got lost, and then I got vaguely un-lost and then got lost whilst getting myself un-lost. It was glorious.

I finally found myself while crossing a bridge. I can walk to the river from my flat, and from the river there’s a pair of bridges. Every time I see them I would think “I really want to go over those”; so when I found myself driving across those bridges I thought “Sweet!”. Then I thought “I really have to turn around…”

Between the skyline, the stadium and some luck I managed to make my way back home. I was greeted with some much-needed strawberry-lemonade.

(The next morning, my friend called me at an obscenely small hour in the morning to go pick her up. Magically, I managed to *not* get lost, which I think is quite a spectacular feat; given that it was before 6:00 in the morning. When I can function while counting the time on one hand, I think I’m doing pretty well.)

Heck yes!

One thought on “Getting Very Lost

  1. I could have stopped and asked for directions.

    I didn’t.

    It turned out really quite well though.
    I was lost,
    vaguely un-lost.
    then lost while getting myself un-lost.

    Between the skyline, the stadium, and some luck,
    I finally found myself while crossing a bridge.

    It was glorious.

    Like

Share Your Story:

