Highway Zombie Thoughts

The road has eaten my brain.

Yesterday while I was driving I passed a truck that was on fire. The tyres were burning, and I could see the thick, black smoke from miles away. The land is so flat in the Midwest, the sky is so big.

Yesterday I lied to a cop. He pulled me over, and I told him I was working on my getting my Masters in Anthropology. He gave me a smile instead of a ticket.

Yesterday, I got lost in a town with a population of 400.

Yesterday, I thought about what it would be like to be president. I thought about what it would be like to be a movie star. I thought about what it would be like to be a professional surfer. I thought about what I would do if I was independently wealthy.

I decided that I think I want to make a glass viola before I die.

 

Rational thought is a bit of a funny beastie, that I don’t think I’ll ever really tame. I think that’s alright. I think it’s probably more fun that way.

Tightrope walking on electrical wire perhaps.

Or something else.

Share Your Story:

