The Passing of Things

There’s something about this idea of starting off with nothing which is bringing me to this idea that’s very different from what I’ve grown up with; this idea that possessions are transitory.

In my childhood the resource we had was space, not money. Things were kept for “just in case”, even if “just in case” was never, or “just in case” was for someone, generations down the road.  Things were kept from my childhood so they would be available for my hypothetical children.

I’ve found myself not wanting that cache. Stuff is an inevitable tie to a place. A dragon can never stray too far from its hoarde.

I’ve been living out of my car for a long time now, and I’m starting to feel ready to downsize. There is so much stuff that I’m carrying with me that I don’t really need.

I want to start somewhere new and I think that it will be easier if I stop thinking of all of the things that I used to have.

It’s just stuff. It comes and goes.

When something becomes a priority in my life, I will make space for the things that come  with it. Until that point, I can just…do without.

I’ve invested a lot in materials, which is investing in resources, but if I don’t use those resources, it’s not a good investment.

So: downsizing. Streamlining. Focusing on less.

It will be good. It will be different, and difficult, but, I suspect, very, very good.

Share Your Story:

