Peter Pan Syndrome

I found a certain collage as I was going through my stuff this morning, from a dear friend that I meant in North Carolina. She taught me amazing things, not the least of which being the idea that re-evaluation can always happen, and that adventures can always await. No matter where you are in life, there is always still time to learn something new and/or do something different.

The entire concept of “what are you going to be when you grow up” is entirely flawed.

A) When in the world does one “grow up?”

B) When one hits this strange point of being “grown up”, why is it that I can only do one thing once I get there? Why do I have to choose to stop…ever?

Even if I “grow up”, I want to keep changing, keep being something else.

I don’t ever want to wake up and think “Yes, that’s it. I have now become *the* thing that I wanted to be.

Why do people treat life as if there is an endgame? Like, a thing where we have accomplished something, so we then just…stop?

I don’t want to be anything when I grow up except for what I already am:

 

Curious.

Share Your Story:

