Gardening Gold

Today, I got to spend the afternoon sifting soil; searching out unwanted clumps, and making particularly sure to get rid of stray roots and bulbs.

I felt rather like I was panning for gold – or reverse panning for gold. The sifter was about half my height, and it was spectacular fun. It was playing in the mud, panning for gold *and* gardening.

Everywhere I go I learn more interesting things that people in the process of growing food. The amount of knowledge and bizarre handed-down habits is crazy awesome.

Share Your Story:

