Procrastination Station

Today I learned many things:

I learned that other than milk, the two foods with the highest concentration of tryptophan are raw pumpkin seeds and sea lion meat. (I’m not sure which has more, but I kind of want to raise a sea lion on a diet of milk and pumpkin seeds just to see what happens now.)

I learned that foods from the nightshade family can inflame joint pain – so, potatoes, tomatoes, bell peppers, eggplants – can all exacerbate joint pain. Or, alternately, many people who suffer from joint pain often find relief by cutting down/cutting out these foods from their diets. Fascinating.

The other thing I learned is that pigs don’t sweat. I’m not really sure what they do, but I would guess it has something to do with rolling in mud (just like elephants!) to control temperature and cool down.

Knowledge is power!

5 thoughts on “Procrastination Station

  1. I love it when you share these little gems! Yesterday, I learned that children who grow up on or near farms are less likely to develop allergies. Something about early exposure to a variety of microbes acts as a vaccine against allergens.

    Like

  2. Did you also know that consuming tryptophan with protein completely negates any affect the tryptophan has on your system?

    Turkey day naps are caused by an over consumption of carbs and fats, and has nothing to do with the content of tryptophan in the turkey 😛

    Like

    • So… sea lion meat would negate itself then? 😦

      I love that turkey has this reputation for sleepiness that’s really just caused by a good old-fashioned food coma. That’s fantastic.

      Like

Share Your Story:

