A Rambling Tale of Melbourne

Sometimes, my life takes a turn for the theatrical, (shocking, I know, being as I am clearly shy, introverted, and demure in all of my dealings with people) and moments start to line up.

This morning, I was (thankfully) woken by a new friend, who was coming by the house so we could walk to work together. Apparently I was so tired last night that I forgot that ever-important step of  actually turning *on* my alarm. She knocked on my door at 6:15, and we were out the door by 6:30.

Neither of us had change for the bus fare though, so we started our journey and the gas station (here called a “servo”). We then proceeded to have a truly bizarre  woman at the servo then inform us that we needed to remember to cherish each moment, because it could very well be our last.

After that, we walked to the station to catch the train. Then we got a bit lost, and ended up on the wrong train line, but strangely, closer then we would have been to where we wanted to go, which was sort of foreshadowing for the rest of the day.

After work was over, we lost our bus stop, and ended up just kind of…going for a walk. When we finally found the bus we were supposed to be on, it was about 6:30 in the evening. We were starving at this point, so I was taken to a local hang-out, called “Lentil As Anything”, which is full of people and warmth and good food. It’s all family-style, so we got to meet a delightful Australian guy named Andy, whose brother was doing his first-ever shift as a waiter there. It was brilliant fun.

I then proceeded to miss my transfer on the train, and ended up getting home at 9:30 P.M.

A bit of a long day, but a magical one.

One thought on “A Rambling Tale of Melbourne

  1. Kate,

    It’s such a pleasure to read your blog and I am super glad that you are out there ‘adventuring’. My hat is off to you, dear! xoxoxoxoxox Stay safe, be intentional (at least once in awhile), and continue enjoying the life that you have!.. love you.

    Like

Share Your Story:

