Reality Therapy

I wrote this piece half as poetry and half with the intention of becoming song lyrics. Whatever it becomes, it will always be dedicated to one of my truest friends: for knowing when to save a folded up scrap of paper.

Reality Therapy

I’ve rejected your reality
which might be the causality
of my lifestyle consequences.
I’m in reality therapy
but I don’t think it will stick
sewing seconds down
as clocks tick.

It slips through my fingers
’cause my hands aren’t real
I don’t know the dangers
of walking through walls.
Your rules are not my own
I’ve tasted the clouds
and sleep underground.
Don’t try to find me,
I won’t show you around.

I’ve set the stones on fire
with the words I can’t contain.
I play football on razor wire
No referees can complain.
My teeth are silver moonlight
sliding through the dark.
I leap tall buildings in a single bound
don’t try to find me,
I won’t show you around.

Heartbeats of stardust and water
Feel the ocean pulse
metal pits and craters
Acid rain is falling
Stinging unwanted epiphany
I can fly brighter than lightening
staining your eyelids.
I’m faster than the speed of sound
don’t try to find me
I won’t show you around.

My teeth taste like sugar
in the kerosene darkness
You don’t know what you’re in for
rough-spun silk silence
You’re hallucinating spiders
water drips in through your ceiling.
You’ll have to look harder for me to be found
Don’t try to find me
I won’t show you around.

I’ve rejected your reality
which might be the causality
of my lifestyle consequences.
I’m in reality therapy
but I don’t think it will stick
sewing seconds down
as clocks tick.

One thought on “Reality Therapy

Share Your Story:

