Interviews and a Date

Today I had two job interviews in the city. (In the afternoon. Breakfast was a bit small this morning, but I’ve got everything set up for it to be totally awesome to infinity and BEYOND!!! (Oh, wait. Is that something else?))

The first was another sales position. I’m a bit shy of throwing myself into another sales job, as my last work for as a charity predator was…really not awesome. I think maybe it would be a lot different selling an actual product though.

Also, paintball is fucking awesome. So. There’s that.

I also managed to spectacularly suck at an interview for a part-time shift for a barista gig downtown. The exact terminology of this position was “Milk Texturer” which, seriously…that’s freaking weird.

“What do you do for a living?”

“Oh, I texture milk!”

What?

So I kind of totally sucked at the job interview for the weirdly-labelled job. I mean, it’s a lot less important now than it was this time two days ago, but I don’t want to just write off all other options. It’s always hard, too, when you totally screw up an interview.

 

As a pick-me-up after an afternoon of job interviews (because even when they go well, it’s freaking stressful.) I decided to take myself on a date. I went to the Australian Centre for Moving Images, which was running a spectacular exhibit on the history of the music video.

I think a lot of folks associate music videos with being a really new form of media, kind of correlating the beginning of music videos with the age of MTV. This exhibit when way before that, it had short films that used to be shown before feature-length movies that also happen to be some of the only surviving footage of jazz greats from the depression. There were even animations from before video was available that contained the lyrics of classic songs from the times.

There was an entire wall that was dedicated to viral videos and how they have impacted global culture. It was a huge grid that would play all of these different clips of videos that had gone viral. It would play maybe 30 different takes on people recreating Beyonce’s “Single Ladies” and Gotye’s “Somebody That I Used To Know”. It discussed videos that were built for online interaction and videos that were practically movies. There were examples of the surrealism often found in music videos as well as music videos as art pieces. There were music videos known for being groundbreaking, artistic, and whimsical.

I stayed until the museum closed. I have notes for a youtube playlist of music videos I want to see again that’s just about as long as my arm. I can’t wait to put that together.

 

(I’ll put a link here when I’m done with it.)

 

Share Your Story:

