Breakfast: The Most Important Meal of The Day!

Breakfast was fully operational this morning. I made this incredible caramel sauce to go with french toast that was served with fresh fruit. The bread we had for the french toast was amazing as well, it came from a local bakery, so we got to cut it ourselves so we had the really delightful thick pieces.

So much better than sliced bread. Why is sliced bread a baseline for how good things are. The best thing since sliced bread. I don’t even like sliced bread. I actually get confused when people refer to sandwich bread as “bread”. To me, bread is a thing that comes…as a singular whole. A loaf of bread refers to… a single chunk of bread that has been baked and is crusty and delicious and can be torn apart and eaten in any way I choose. Sandwich bread is…bread that most folks use to make a sandwich.

I digress. There was also a beautiful fruit syrup that I made with peaches and raspberries and a hint of cinnamon to go with our vegan pancakes. There was a veggie-egg scramble served with toast, as well as cinnamon rolls that also came from the local bakery. (I’m going to fix that. My cinnnamon rolls are better. Soon they’ll be in-house.)

The Frenchman who was working as our barista for the morning approved of my pastry.

 

It was a good day in the breakfast kitchen friends. A good day indeed.

Share Your Story:

