List All Applicable Skills

I have been attempting to sort of…quantify my life experience up to this point.

There are a whole lot of things that I distinctly don’t suck at, there are many things that I am actively quite good at, and…absolutely nothing on embossed pieces of paper saying from fancy institutions verifying my skills.

I’ve been going through and trying to more-or-less gather “documented proof” that I don’t actually have nothing to say for the past five years of my life.

I’ve spent a lot of time living with this idea of living my life directly. I don’t want to experience the world through a screen. I want to be interacting with the things in front of me.

The anecdote I turn to most often is one about concerts: people spend so much time worrying over whether or not their camera is getting a good shot that they can’t even remember if the band played their favourite song.

That’s not how I want to live.

In light of this, I probably haven’t been documenting the things I’ve done that showcase my talents.

However, me sending out resumes filled with things that I’ve claimed I can do…and I have no proof.

It’s my word against internet-age scepticism.

 

So…now I’m trying to do better at taking pictures, but I can’t help but wish I had taken better care to build my portfolio *before* I wanted to use it.

Share Your Story:

