Penguins By The Sea

I found myself in the southern part of Melbourne this afternoon, and I thought “…screw this. I’m going to go to the beach and find the penguins”.

There’s a small colony of Little Blue Penguins that lives in the rocks of the breakwater in St. Kilda. They’re tiny! The heaviest they get is about 200 grams.

20140417_170549

The best time to see them is early morning/late evening, when the day is cool.

20140417_165723

20140417_165743

 

It wasn’t all penguins though. It was so wonderful to just be able to sit on the rocks and watch sea birds dive.

Now I’m that kind of sun-baked exhausted that really only comes from a day at the beach.

 

20140417_171350

 

I love this city.

Share Your Story:

