Start Small, Then Finish.

When I first started this blog, I kept it dark for a month. I didn’t tell anyone, didn’t really tag anything. I wasn’t looking for traffic.

I’m not always good at finishing things. (Which should really probably read as “I don’t finish things”.) I didn’t want to start this blog, and keep it for about twelve days before allowing it to wither into nothing.

I didn’t want to tell people to follow a blog that wouldn’t go anywhere.

I feel like I can absolutely say at this point that this blog is clearly something that has become a part of how I spend my time. I really enjoy it. I love getting emails that someone has liked something I’ve written.

It’s kind of insane, logging in to see that someone in a country 8,000 miles away was looking at something I wrote. It’s this amazing kind of community, where something I’ve said can be “liked” by someone I’ve never met. And, maybe it wasn’t the biggest deal in the world, but they took the time to read it, and they cared enough to let me know they appreciated my thoughts.

I can’t lie. Positive feedback is a pretty awesome thing to be getting.

One week from today is the one year anniversary of my blog-keeping.

I went through some of my older posts the other day. It’s been a crazy year. I’ve seen amazing thing, I’ve met incredible people… My life is fucking magical.

Right now, I’m trying to start some long-term projects. Hopefully I’ll be able to turn the things that I love doing into things that actually generate income.

It’s…absolutely terrifying. I have no idea how this is going to work out.

No regrets. Dance in the fire or sit in the shadows.

So, I guess what I’m trying to say is that…I don’t really do the “New Years Resolution” thing, but I’m approaching the year-mark for something that really means a lot to me, and so, what the hell. The thing I’m going to try to focus on during the next phase of my life is finishing shit.

No more screws in tea cups and extra parts on the porch. No more first drafts that only make it to 3 pages.

I can start small – like I did here. But, if I can talk for a few hundred words on any given day about anything…I have a few hundred words I can say about other things.

Both feet first. Do or do not; there is no try.

Let’s do this baby.

Share Your Story:

