Why Not To Plan (But Do It Anyway)

I’ve been talking with all of my beautiful friends recently, and I’ve stumbled upon a bit of weirdness. I think that I might actually have a vaguely workable plan for the rest of the year.

I put way too much time and effort into plans, because most (read:all) of my plans seem to fail to allow for the one factor that screws them up the most, which is *me*.
I’m like “I will do this thing!” and then I’m doing that thing and I’m like “…well, this actually kind of sucks, so I WILL DO A DIFFERENT THING!” And then I go for that.

This does work.

It just also leads to much scrapping of said plans, which can actually be a bit stressful. And a bit sad. Because there is a bit of mourning that comes with scrapping of five or ten-year plans that end with some really beautiful, hypothetical situation.

And the stress, of attempting to come up with a new plan that fits within the new parameters that I’ve created in my life, but still manages to somehow fill up the gaps left by Old Discarded Plan.

I think this is one of those things that I will never break the habit of; which I think is probably alright, because most of my incomplete plans still manage to leave me in some truly fantastic, if completely bizarre circumstances.

To summarize: My life is amazing, and I have no idea how it got that way, so for now I’m smiling, nodding and seeing how far I can go.

Share Your Story:

