Consolidating Plans

My original intention when coming to Melbourne was to stop traveling. I was hoping to find somewhere to build a permanent new home.

Unfortunately, I have not been able to make those plans come to reality.

So, instead of clinging to what I was originally hoping for, and settling for the inevitable disappointment of not being able to stay when my visa runs out, I’m just going to re-focus, and build a different kind of experience.

I recently made the decision to return to the United States for a month (I’ll be going for my brothers wedding, and staying for a family reunion.) and it feels like a really natural place for me to end my time in Melbourne. Upon my return to Australia, I’ll have a blank slate to fill with travel and adventures.

It’s been really hard for me to come to terms with the fact that I can’t find a way to stay in Australia, but there’s no point in continuing to pour my energy into a situation that I can’t realistically change (because, no, seriously, I am not going to get married for citizenship. Thanks.).

Australia is a huge country, and I have seen…one city of it in the past 8 months.

I thought maybe I was ready to settle down, but apparently I still have leagues left in my wandering shoes.

So, here’s to the future, and new places and moving on.

TOWANDA!!!

 

 

Share Your Story:

