In Darkest Night

I wish I words for the night sky here. It’s unlike anything I’ve ever seen.

It feels almost…untouched. There’s no reflection from stadium  lights. There’s no skyline of jenga-stacked lights in highrise buildings. There’s no spilloff from nearby streetlights.

It’s just dark and stars and a slip of moon.

The night sky looks like forever, but also so close, like I could reach up and dip my hands in it; feel the galaxies between my fingers, scratch the stardust under my nails.

I fee like I’m breathing in the space between stars. All of the not-quite, the almost-there. The you-can’t-see-me-yet, just-wait.

The sun takes most of the heat with it, but this is the warm kind of nightdark, that just lets you be still and quiet and living and eternal.

 

One thought on “In Darkest Night

Share Your Story:

