Build Up

It’s not cold at night anymore. The humidity has started to kick in.

The locals all look up, point at a solitary cloud in the sky and say the same thing “Build Up has started.”

So, I guess there’s more than two seasons. There’s “Dry” “Build Up” and “Wet”.

Though I’ve been told that all of the wet season *is* build up, so I don’t really know?

The jackets and jeans that I used to need for opening the kitchen in the mornings have been put away.

Sleeves are steadily disappearing from everyones shirts.

 

It’s the kind of sticky-warm that I like best; the kind that permeates everything and leaves behind a content laziness that makes me feel like I could just lie down and sleep on the pavement in the courtyard, just like a cat in the sun.

Share Your Story:

