Game of Thrones

I try very hard to read everything before I watch it.

However, as I’ve been traveling (and, honestly, as I’ve *not* been traveling), virtually everyone I’ve met has had something to say along the lines of “Do you watch Game of Thrones?” “I think you’d like Game of Thrones.” “Any chance you have the latest season of Game of Thrones?”

I must admit.

It finally just piled up enough that I gave in.

I finally realized that my resistance was futile, and that I may as well come to terms with the fact that I’ll most likely be marathoning Game of Thrones within the extremely near future.

 

Now, to be a bit circuitous, I…pretty much always have morning shifts. I have gotten used to being up at 5:30 to be in the kitchen or up at 6:00 to do housekeeping; so, even though IĀ  may have had a day off, I still woke up at 5:00 in the morning.

I wandered through staff quarters, and what did I spy, lying out on the bookshelf?

Nothing other than “Game of Thrones, by George R. R. Martin, Book one of the Song of Fire and Ice.”

 

…So I guess I will read the book first.

šŸ˜›

5 thoughts on “Game of Thrones

  1. I’ve read all published books in the series. I will never read another. I hate them. The TV show is even worse. They are not even good enough to start a fire with. Yes, I feel that strong about it. The only reason he has “R.R.” in his name is so some fool in the future will mistake him for Tolkien. He is a hack.

    Anyway, good luck!

    Like

    • Yeah. I don’t know about them. It’s weird, because I really thought that they would be, like, *difficult* books to read? A lot of the high-fantasy that I’ve read; I mean, it’s really good, and it’s super rewarding, but it’s not the *easiest* stuff to read.

      Game of Thrones…was not that. Like…not gonna lie, part of how I judge books is by how much they improve my vocabulary. If I leave a book with an entire list, chances are really high that I’ll have really, really enjoyed it.

      I…didn’t have to look up anything, in this book. And, like, it’s a really long book. Usually, if someone creates something that long…there will be *some* words I don’t know, just because of the sheer length of the book.

      (Also, I’m incredibly conflicted about the portrayal of women, and the Dothraki and Hill Tribes. Because some of it was…kind of really cringe-worthy.)
      (Which is actually, definitely a bigger part of my issues with the book than the lack of vocabulary by far.)
      (And also why I didn’t start reading/watching when Game of Thrones first started.)

      Like

  2. Everyone’s mileage can vary, but the books are great. My wife hates fantasy, but she agreed to read the first book since I was going crazy about it and trying to pile through the second book. She would stay up all night reading, and stole the second book from me. I had to borrow a copy from friends so I could keep reading.

    Anyway, hope you enjoy reading the books, and watching the series.

    Like

    • They’re definitely compelling, for sure. The way that it follows so many different story lines, so every single chapter can end with a cliff-hanger, is really well done. Especially when relevant information is dropped in throughout other chapters, so you get whispers of something that’s happening to other characters off-screen. It’s very effective.

      My ability to get through them has been mostly challenged by finding myself in very small, rural towns that don’t have bookstores or libraries, so as it stands, I think I’ll have to wait a while before I can start on book 2. šŸ˜›

      Liked by 1 person

Share Your Story:

