A New Kind of Smithing

I’ve worked with blacksmithing before, but the smallest thing I’ve ever worked on was a cloak pin.

I’ve never had the opportunity to work with delicate metal. Everything I’ve ever done has involved mallets, vices, several sets of tongs, and exerting as much for as it was physically possible for me to put forth.

I love working with metal. (Also, I’m pretty sure it’s physically impossible to be cold whilst working in a forge. I just think that it can’t happen.)

However…I really, really like small things. I like details, I like trivia. I like the corners and the edges and seeing a single tree in a forest. Which…is not really blacksmithing. There’s a limit to the amount of detail that can be done when working with metal rods that are two inches in diameter.

Today, I got to work with jewelry for the first time.

The torch used for soldering the pieces together had a foot-powered bellows on the floor next to the work station.

I love it.

I was working with silver, which is just…delightfully responsive. I can apply the smallest amount of force and it will bend.

It’s so strange that I don’t need tools to help apply the amount of force that I need to make metal do what I want it to, but it’s wonderful.

 

…I might well be hooked.

 

20141117_124544

Share Your Story:

