I Will Not Learn Gaelic

I will not learn Gaelic. I will not learn Gaelic. I *WILL NOT* LEARN GAELIC.

I did this once already. I *know* better.

I went to Uni, and it was all “You need language credits to graduate!” and I was like “Cool. Can I Independent Study?” and they were like “Yes!” and I was like “FUCK YEAH. I’M LEARNING *WELSH*.

While, technically, Welsh is not Gaelic. It’s Brittonic, but, the point remains the same:

BECAUSE IT’S SO HELPFUL. IT WILL BE SO HANDY IN MY LIFE WHEN I VISIT ALL OF THE PLACES IN THE WORLD WHERE PEOPLE SPEAK EXCLUSIVELY WELSH.

Why. Why did I do that.

You know who speaks Welsh?

 

Fucking *nobody*.

That’s the answer.

(Gwlad, GWLAAAAD!!! Pleidiol wyf i’m gwlad!)

 

You know who speaks *Gaelic*?

EVEN MORE NOBODY.

 

I live in *Texas* now. I should be learning Spanish.

Large populations of the world speak Spanish. Like. Most of a continent. And then a few other countries.

 

Only…I was going through old files last night, and what did I find?

All of my language programs.

 

I WILL NOT LEARN GAELIC.

 

… Ciamar a tha sibh?

Tha gu math, tapadh leibh.

 

 

Fuck.

Share Your Story:

