The Vivarium

I love my flat.

I have…more space than I could ever possibly justify, so I’m building a *crafting room*. My fridge is full of food that I can cook at my leisure.

(Which, I’ll be honest. When I was working at restaurants, I wasn’t usually all that keen to come home and cook. When I’m cooking for other folks, it’s usually based on what they like and what they have in their cupboards. Me being able to just determine a menu for myself based on whatever I feel like eating…is a really delightful feeling.)

I have a nest and a computer, and I’ve even managed to find myself a fantastic little neighbourhood coffee shop.

The best thing, though, is that my house is *always* warm.

I live on the top floor, and so everyone else heats my place.

I don’t even have the heating turned on, but I get home, and my house is 82 degrees. (about 28 C.)

It’s *perfect*.

 

My lizard soul just wants to sleep on the floor and luxuriate in *heat*.

 

So…I looked up what they call lizard enclosures. I found the term “Vivarium”.

A vivarium (Latin, literally for “place of life”; plural: vivaria or vivariums) is an area, usually enclosed, for keeping and raising animals or plants for observation or research. Often, a portion of the ecosystem for a particular species is simulated on a smaller scale, with controls for environmental conditions.*

 

APARTMENT! I HEREBY DUB THEE: VIVARIUM.

 

*definition stolen from wikipedia.

Share Your Story:

