On the Spot

A common theme on this blog over the past…while…has been Me Finding A Job!

Which was mostly facilitated by my wandering around the planet.

I’ve sort of scaled down my wanderings of late, however, and thusly am looking for a rather more long-term job.

Which I seem to have found.

This story isn’t so much about finding a job though, as it is about finding a job whilst not following…pretty much every single rule about job-searching that I have ever learned.

I was heading out to this pub to drop off a resume. I double-checked the ad while I was on the bus over, and realized that it emailed applications were also accepted. It was a really long bus ride, so I decided that I might as well send in an email while I was on my way there.

I got to the pub, walked in, didn’t talk to anyone, awkwardly checked a menu for like, five minutes before chickening out and running away to a coffee shop down the street.

Now, I would like to point out that at this specific juncture in time, I wasn’t going for an interview or anything. I just wanted to drop off my resume with whoever was at the counter and then move along.

Then, at the coffee shop, I got a phone call from the pub. They were all “Hey. You should come by and fill out an application.” and I said “I’m sort of in the neighbourhood. I can come by later tonight?” which was deemed acceptable.

I’m wearing sneakers, a trilby and a t-shirt that I’ve had for eight years, and a bottle-cap necklace with a pendent that’s a picture of Godzilla burning Tokyo from the original film. I also completely forgot that I was wearing metal in my face.L

I go to the pub. I mention that I’m there to fill out a job application. The manager comes out – *wearing a kilt*.

I filled out the application, we had a chat, he said “stay here. You need to talk to the other manager.”

By the end of the night I had a job offer.

 

So. Sometimes all of the advice in the world doesn’t matter. It’s just finding the right people and the right place.

 

(Also, don’t do what I do. I’m telling this story because I’m narcisstic enough to run a blog about my life, not because I think this is a good example to set.)

Share Your Story:

