To Make Better Decisions (and Tie Better Knots)

Today I was getting on my bike to go home, and the straps on my backpack snapped.

I had this moment where I thought “I could go back in to work, drop off my bag in the office, and then get a new bag and fix everything tomorrow.”

Then I thought “No, but all my stuff is in there.”

So I tied it to my bike.

This turned out to be a very poor decision when I reached home, and there was…definitely not a bag on my bike.

This is particularly frustrating because…I don’t actually suck at knots? Like, I’ve worked on sailboats. I’ve done rigging in theatre. I’ve also tied stuff down to the trailers and stuff before.

But, clearly I over-estimated my knot-tying skill (and quite possibly the strength of already-snapped straps, come to think of it…) and underestimated the force of windspeed applied to something tied to the back of a motorcycle.

So, I lost my bag.

This is a distinctly unfortunate development, because it was also raining when I drove to work today. So, not only did I lost the standard things I keep in my bag (wallet, phone, etc.(I only put my keys in my pocket on a whim. THANK YOU WHIM. I AM SO GLAD I WAS ABLE TO GET INTO THE VIVARIUM. LOVELY, BEAUTIFUL, WARM VIVARIUM.) I also lost my only jacket, and my towel (because I have a camping towel that is *tiny* yet efficient and I LOVE IT SO MUCH and I use it all the time for everything, like drying off my bike before I go on a ride, or using it to go on the top of my bag just in case water gets in, or sepearating wet gear from dry stuff. It’s the BEST THING EVER.)(Only I don’t have it anymore. I’m using an old pair of fisher-pants as a towel right now. It’s weird. :P)

I also lost half of my work clothes and a couple of shirts.

This wouldn’t matter so much, except for the whole part where my clothing selection is still quite backpacker-sized. So, losing two shirts from a total collection of *eight* is a pretty big impact.

On the other hand, I think that I have finally managed to destroy the last bits of my brain that connect sentimental value to clothes.

I went back to try and find my bag, and upon not finding my bag, I just kind of went, “Well. That’s what happens to stuff sometimes…” and went to bed.

2 thoughts on “To Make Better Decisions (and Tie Better Knots)

    • I definitely spend two days forgetting to go towel shopping. I definitely believe that towels are beautiful inventions, because, for real, other fabric does not suffice. :p

      Like

Share Your Story:

