A Whole New Job…

I’ve decided to try again for an actual *bartending* position.

It was what I wanted in the first place, and I kind of settled for a position as waitstaff, and that turned out not so great. So, this time around I’m going with some advice I learned from a beautiful soul in Melbourne: Remember, that I get to choose the job.

(Granted, this is really only relevant when one is already employed/not in any immediate need of money, but, I’m choosing to give it a go for a while.)

I’m a little bit terrified.

It’s frustrating, because I know I’m defeating myself, in a way, because I’m not totally confident in my abilities, so I hesitate to apply to the faster-paced jobs.

It’s a bit ironic, because when I picked up my motorcyle, I did so absolutely secure in the knowledge that the best way to get better at something was to just *do it*.

This…is difficult for me to extend to job skills, apparently.

Perhaps because I know there would be a learning curve. I have a hard time sitting in an interview and proclaiming “YES! I CAN DO THAT!” when what I really mean is “Well, I’ll certainly learn how to do that pretty fast, when it is, in fact, how I make my living.”

 

I just keep thinking “Love or Fear”, and I really want it to be love.

Sometimes fear feels a lot more present, though.

 

We’ll see how it goes.

Adventures, as always.

2 thoughts on “A Whole New Job…

  1. After many wonderful conversations with you I think you will be awesome at the job. Everyone loves a happy and bubbly personality when being served and it also gets good tips. The advice you get is good but incomplete because you not only get to ‘choose’ but also it is good to do something you ‘enjoy’ and get ‘paid for it’. It always makes the job easier.

    Like

Share Your Story:

