Room at the Holiday Inn

I got a call the other day from a Holiday Inn just down the road from the Vivarium, could I come down for an interview, which of course I did.

The interview was more about travel than anything else. I walked in, with no idea what I was doing, and then I shook hands with people, and by the time I walked out of the hotel, I had filled out all of the paperwork and become an official employee.

I now have a bartending position at a Holiday Inn.

 

(I am SO FREAKING EXCITED about this, because hotel chains seem like a very good place for me to work with my goals of continued travel. I don’t know if Holiday Inn has any kind of transfer-network between different hotels in different countries, but it still feels like the kind of experience that will feel relevant on a resume in significantly more countries than “local neighbourhood bar!”

Companies spend a lot of money on branding, and if I can ride that train? All the better for me.)

2 thoughts on “Room at the Holiday Inn

Share Your Story:

