Always Right

I had a conversation the other day with a woman, that…was really disconcerting.

We ended up touching on a lot of subjects that I have very strong feelings about – (like racism in the U.S. and various queer identities).

I finally managed to end the conversation (though probably not very gracefully).

Later, she said to me “Did you know that you always have to be right about everything?”

 

This was…really strange for me.

I honestly don’t think anyone has ever said that to me.

I’ve been told that I’m contrary (and I can be), but not that I must always be right about everything.

She said “You must get that all the time.”

And I was just like…”No, actually. Not that I can recall.”

And she said “Every time I said something, you told me I was wrong. I would say something, and you would say ‘Well, actually‘ and then tell me I was wrong.”

 

I’m…not really sure how I feel about this.

Because, on the one hand…that is the last person I want to be.

I don’t ever want to come off as being the person who must always be right about everything, because if you want to always be right, it usually means that at some point you’ve stopped listening to the other person; at some point, you’ve stopped trying to see the logic of their point of view.

On the other hand…

Maybe I have become that person, a bit, because… when it comes to topics of conversation… I have stopped listening, to an extant.

 

I don’t know. I guess it’s the balance of filtering things out.

 

Like, I don’t care what Rush Limbaugh has to say…about anything, really.

But that’s also admitting that I’ve willingly chose to stop listening.

 

I don’t know how I feel about that.

Share Your Story:

