Work So Good

Are you ready for a funny story?

I’ve mentioned that I’ve been working a lot lately.

Unfortunately, my schedules have lined up in a way that I haven’t had a day off in something over three weeks. Which, is kind of a lot. (SO MANY EARLY MORNINGS. WHY SO MANY EARLY MORNINGS.)

Anyway, so. Today was supposed to be my first proper day off in a long while, but yesterday, I got a text from a co-worker that a family member had gotten sick, and could I cover a shift.

I said yes, but because of schedule constraints, I couldn’t take the whole shift. I volunteered to take the early-morning bit, because it’s a lot easier to find someone to come in at 9:30 than at 6:30.

Then, we had to clear it with our store manager, who wasn’t answering their phone.

Which was a bit frustrating.

So, I closed the cafe, and we got out near to midnight.

I also had maintenance folk scheduled to come to my house today, so I went home and and set up my  place so they could get to the things they needed to be able to get to.

I ended up getting about two hours of sleep.

Then, I woke up, got on my bike, and went in to work.

So, after MOTHERFUCKING ALL THAT JESUS FUCK I got to work, and I was standing outside the door, and the store manager walks up and she says ‘you know I got that shift covered by someone else, right?’

and I’m just thinking ‘NO. CLEARLY I DIDN’T BECAUSE IT’S SIX IN THE FUCKING MORNING AND I DON’T FUCKING COME HERE FOR FUNZIES.’

And I managed to say something like ‘All of it?’

And she was like ‘Yes.’

So, after all that, fucking *TWO HOURS OF SLEEP*

it’s just

‘Uhm. You can go home now?’

Thanks, kids. Thanks. >.<

 

(But my friends did make me a really gigantic, beautiful cup of pity tea. So it didn’t turn out too bad I suppose.)

Share Your Story:

