Kinky Friedman

If there is anyone who personifies Texan stereotypes – it might well be Kinky Friedman. He’s got his own line of cigars, and a his own brand of Tequila. He even ran for office.

He also apparently writes noir novels, though I haven’t had a chance to read any of those yet.

Mostly, though, he wanders around with a guitar, being a Texan bard.

(I’m not totally sure how I feel about this, to be honest.)

 

I think one of the most interesting things about the Kinky Friedman concert (aside from the age gap. I’m pretty sure there was a solid gap of at least a decade between me and pretty much everyone else there.) but the crowd was shockingly international.

There was a table from New Zealand, a couple from Australia. There was a group from Sweden. There was a Canadian couple on their honeymoon.

I think that, for me, I’d definitely have to read more lyrics and probably do some more looking into things before I come to a conclusion about Kinky.

(It probably didn’t help that I had absolutely *no* idea what I was getting into, but hey. That’s sort of how I roll.)

Share Your Story:

